What a way to start my 30 Before 30! I went to the Zurich Ironman Triathlon website to sign up for a triathlon (don’t start freaking out, I certainly didn’t sign up for the Ironman… I was thinking more along the lines of a 1/4 or 1/8 Ironman…).

Lo and behold, there was no way for me to sign up so early for the 2014 competition! And I find that kind of hard to believe because normally the Swiss plan so far ahead, I was afraid I might only be able to get a spot for 2017 or later.

Nevertheless, motivated by the idea that I will be participating in a triathlon in the future, I decided to go for my first jog since giving birth. And, let’s be honest, basically my first jog since I found out I was pregnant. That puts me at right around 10-11 months since the last time I jogged. Yikes!! I decided to keep it easy for my first time and I ran 2 miles in 21 minutes. Not great but actually not nearly as bad as I thought it would be! Plus, Switzerland has a lot of hills – can we blame my time on that?? Either way, I felt good about it, especially after reading myself some motivational quotes.

 

Though I then did 10 push-ups and 10 crunches and thought I possibly might die so I decided to call it a day.

Ok yes, technically I didn’t actually do what I said I would do, which was to actually sign up for a triathlon. BUT, I did put the date in my calendar and I did start “training”, so I count that as a half-success. .5 down, 29.5 things to go!
—-
I’m taking on the quest to do 30 new things before I turn 30! Read my initial post to see the full list of things I want to do.
